Europe’s elite clubs confirm Super League formation

Super League Logo //

12 of Europe’s elite clubs have released a joint press release stating that they have established a new competition called the Super League.

“By bringing together the worlds greatest clubs and players to play each other throughout the season, the Super League will open a new chapter for European football, ensuring world-class competition and facilities, and increased financial support for the wider football pyramid”, said Vice-president of the league Joel Glazer.

All founding members will receive 3.5 billion euros to support infrastructure plans and to combat the economic impact of the pandemic.

The founding clubs are:

  • Real Madrid,
  • Atletico Madrid,
  • Barcelona
  • Manchester United,
  • Manchester City
  • Tottenham
  • Arsenal
  • Chelsea
  • Liverpool,
  • Inter Milan
  • AC Milan
  • Juventus.

Three more clubs are expected to join before the start of the new Super League, which is expected to be as soon as practically possible, the statement says.

The chairman of the league is Real Madrid president Florentino Perez. He said the following:

“We will help football at every level and take it to its rightful place in the world. Football is the only global sport with more than four billion fans and our responsibility as big clubs is to respond to their desires”

Competition format

  • 20 club league. 15 permanent members.
  • 5 spots up for grabs via a qualification system based on performance in previous season.
  • Matches will be played mid-week.
  • Participating clubs will continue to compete in their respective national competitions

The league will begin already in August this year, where all 20 teams are divided into two groups of 10, where everyone plays each other home and away.

The four teams with the most points from both of those groups, eight teams in total, will then qualify for the knockout tournament. Matches will then be played home and away just like the Champions League.

Although the Super league’s intentions are for the participating clubs to keep playing in their respective leagues, UEFA have indicated all Super league clubs will be banned from competing in national and domestic competitions.